It’s been a while since posting on the Happiness Rx. In the past few months, I successfully took the licensure exam, got licensed as a psychologist and signed a full time contract with oBand- the surgery center I did my internship with for the last year!

 

Yet, I am still maintaining a small private practice one day a week and think about those of you who I no longer see…especially around this time of year.

 

If you have been out of the loop (like me) for a while, this blog’s for you :)

 

It seems, as we get older, the holidays bring a mixed bag of feelings for all of us. I see an influx of new clients coming into therapy, realizing for maybe the first time, that they don’t want the holidays next year, to be like the one currently. I also, unfortunately, start seeing less of some of my long-time clients. The holidays tend to strain many financially. They also require us to travel for miles and miles, catching up with loved ones, and just generally catching up on all of the normal to-do’s along with our holiday shopping.

So even if you can’t get back into therapy for a while- use this moment to evaluate if you are truly having a “Happy Holiday.” Here are some things to think about:

- Are you making travel plans to appease everyone else, or are you pleasing yourself?

- Are you spending quality time with your loved ones, or spending too much money trying to make sure you get everyone the perfect gift?

- Often this time of year brings up old family dynamics, what are you better able to notice as a result of your own personal work? How do you respond vs. react?

- During this time of year, its quite normal to yearn to recapture that sense of innocence and hopefulness we once possessed as children. What obstacles are getting in your way from being happy today? Are there old scripts and stories you are allowing in?

- They say “tis better to give than to receive,” …Are you spending some extra time this holiday season thinking about how you might make someone else’s holiday a bit brighter. This is one of the most effective ways to lifting stress and anxiety. Here’s a link to start –> Volunteer in Los Angeles

I hope every single one of you have a moment of utter and complete bliss this holiday season, where you feel loved, loving, and warm. You make my work (and my entire life) blessed and full every time I feel I am able to provide you with help, and that is what I am truly grateful for this holiday season.

 

Thank you, Colleen

 

 

 

 

Dr. Colleen Long (PSY23911) is a licensed clinical psychologist and the author of “Happiness in B.A.L.A.N.C.E.” She practices in Beverly Hills . Dr. Long works mainly from a positive psychology framework as it applies to addiction, depression, relationships,  body image and weight loss. Her website can be found at www.DrColleenLong.com. All public speaking/media event requests handled through FreudTV (info@FreudTV.com).

